You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
Add the ability to delete accounts or transfer them to other boxes #16
I think it would be great if users could transfer their accounts to other boxes (say, if a Viewer user got a real box and wants to transfer their account). The below diagram and mockups show what these features could look like and how they'd act.
Diagram (sorry it's so messy and all over the place)
Transfer and Delete options mockup
Transfer screen mockup (wtv-setup:/transfer-account)
changed the title [-]Add the ability to delete or transfer users to other boxes[/-][+]Add the ability to delete accounts or transfer them to other boxes[/+]on Nov 18, 2022
@zefie That's why there's a disconnect button instead of an OK button on the "Transfer Initialized" dialog: to end the old session.
I also forgot to mention that the "Transfer Pending" dialog is for if you reconnect on the old box while the account is still in the transfer queue (ie. hasn't been confirmed on the new box).
@zefie Ah, got it.
Another idea is that you could add a "Show SSID" button to the registration screen so it's easier to get the SSID of physical hardware.
Activity
[-]Add the ability to delete or transfer users to other boxes[/-][+]Add the ability to delete accounts or transfer them to other boxes[/+]zefie commentedon Nov 18, 2022
addendum: when user confirms transfer, if it is successful, must invalidate old box's session immediately.
benfernandezmedia commentedon Nov 18, 2022
The concept is good but I'm not sure if the content from the account like your favorites, mail, etc will be transferred to another terminal.
SKCro commentedon Nov 18, 2022
@benfernandezmedia The account transfer is simply a rename of the SSID folder server-side, so all content should carry over.
SKCro commentedon Nov 18, 2022
@zefie That's why there's a disconnect button instead of an OK button on the "Transfer Initialized" dialog: to end the old session.
I also forgot to mention that the "Transfer Pending" dialog is for if you reconnect on the old box while the account is still in the transfer queue (ie. hasn't been confirmed on the new box).
benfernandezmedia commentedon Nov 18, 2022
Very well then, let's see how that goes when the feature is implemented in the minisrv.
zefie commentedon Nov 18, 2022
@SKCro Session invalidation must be server side, can't trust viewer users to click the button ;)
SKCro commentedon Nov 21, 2022
@zefie Ah, got it.
Another idea is that you could add a "Show SSID" button to the registration screen so it's easier to get the SSID of physical hardware.
start work on #16
more work towards #16