You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
Hi,
I just deleted a realm manually thinking it is a user that I'm deleting. What are different options to recover the Realm ?
To my understanding, in DB a realm deleted would not delete other resources right ? What about recreating one with the same name ?
Anyway, I'm working with my team, new to keycloak, so I'm gathering information for them, I know very little about keycloak and roles.
My stress is skyhigh, as it escalated to production and everything is down
It looks like they had some virtualization at some point. probably docker or a VM or a physical disk, I don't know. It was resolved "somehow".
True, they asked for some users roles which we had thankfully in another database.
This is strange though, isn't it wiser not to delete every relation when a realm is deleted ?
I learnt something anyway and problem was solved after headaches , thanks !
also if you ask me how I could mistaken deleting a Realm from a User, true, it's a shame,
but if you check keycloak web UI, you have definitely the same button same design for two listings. I suggest to add some safety like GitHub does for some actions: Enter the name of the realm to confirm or so
The thing is basically all entities are sub-resources of realms and are accessed using URLs including the realm, so changing the deletion behaviour is pretty much impossible. The safety check for deleting realms could be a bit more involved, I agree.
reacted with thumbs up emoji reacted with thumbs down emoji reacted with laugh emoji reacted with hooray emoji reacted with confused emoji reacted with heart emoji reacted with rocket emoji reacted with eyes emoji
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Hi,
I just deleted a realm manually thinking it is a user that I'm deleting. What are different options to recover the Realm ?
To my understanding, in DB a realm deleted would not delete other resources right ? What about recreating one with the same name ?
Anyway, I'm working with my team, new to keycloak, so I'm gathering information for them, I know very little about keycloak and roles.
My stress is skyhigh, as it escalated to production and everything is down
All reactions
Replies: 1 comment · 3 replies
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Deleting a realm does delete most associated data. Do you have a database backup?
All reactions
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
It looks like they had some virtualization at some point. probably docker or a VM or a physical disk, I don't know. It was resolved "somehow".
True, they asked for some users roles which we had thankfully in another database.
This is strange though, isn't it wiser not to delete every relation when a realm is deleted ?
I learnt something anyway and problem was solved after headaches , thanks !
All reactions
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
also if you ask me how I could mistaken deleting a Realm from a User, true, it's a shame,
but if you check keycloak web UI, you have definitely the same button same design for two listings. I suggest to add some safety like GitHub does for some actions: Enter the name of the realm to confirm or so
All reactions
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
The thing is basically all entities are sub-resources of realms and are accessed using URLs including the realm, so changing the deletion behaviour is pretty much impossible. The safety check for deleting realms could be a bit more involved, I agree.
All reactions